Microblaze on Mojo?

Projects you are planning or working on with the Mojo
0xDEADBEEF
Posts: 3
Joined: December 30th, 2013, 5:02 pm

Re: Microblaze on Mojo?

Post by 0xDEADBEEF » December 30th, 2013, 5:25 pm

I recently bought the Mojo as a hopeful replacement for my Spartan 3 board. The previous board had loads of peripherals, but using parallel to program and serial for uart was bothersome...

Anyways, I have access to the full version of XPS, but I wanted to help out by working from just the WebPACK license. The Xilinx website said that XPS under WebPACK has only limited support for a few select devices, and the Mojo obviously wasn't listed under those. I haven't ever used ISE and coregen to create a microblaze project. Is there a particular reason to use it here with the Mojo? I've always used XPS to make microblaze projects and create custom ips, so the method posted here seemed a little odd. So is there a license restriction keeping Mojo projects under XPS from happening?

I'm gonna go ahead and try to create a microblaze project and make an ip for that avr uart issue as well. Although I can't tell if I'm using my WebPACK or if I'm under some 30-day trial. I guess without JTAG that debugging the microblaze might be difficult though...

Anyways, I'd love to help in getting a good microblaze project and tutorial going. Thanks for figuring out that uart issue and posting your verilog.

0xDEADBEEF
Posts: 3
Joined: December 30th, 2013, 5:02 pm

Re: Microblaze on Mojo?

Post by 0xDEADBEEF » January 10th, 2014, 1:19 am

So I tried starting from XPS and I succeeded in making a good bitstream, but getting the elf into it proved difficult. I still think it's possible, but I was able to recreate the steps from the pdf that maurice linked. So right now all I have is the GPO under the IOmodule spitting out to the LEDs. I'l have to include that UART ip soon so that I can really start playing around.

Also, I found a solution to getting binary bitstreams instead of the *.bit ones without using progmem. There is an option under ISE to switch from bit to bin files. The path is: Generate Programming File > Process Properties > Create Binary Configuration File. Toggle that radio button and all future bitstreams will be compatible with the Mojo.

Then running that script microblaze_mcs_data2mem added a flag to the bitgen command. So I believe it is more than possible to just run bitgen manually and include any elf file you desire. I'm going to try my hand at a few different methods next. There's an option to add an embedded processor source to an ISE project, which is essentially an EDK project with a VHDL top module. I believe this would make it possible to run the same data2mem commands and bitgen to get the binary. Then I'll try going straight from the EDK and use bitgen manually to include the elf.

When I find the best solution I hope to make a good base uBlaze base project with the fix to the UART as a core so that anyone can just plop the uBlaze into their design and get going.

Other thoughts I had were about the linux distro Xilinx has for the uBlaze. I don't know what the memory constraints are right now, but that'd be useful. I'm also sure that FreeRTOS has been ported to uBlaze.

gadget
Posts: 4
Joined: December 15th, 2013, 1:47 pm

Re: Microblaze on Mojo?

Post by gadget » January 14th, 2014, 5:49 pm

Just curious, am following the link for instructions and got the following error -
NgdBuild:634 - Cannot open input BMM file 'ipcore_dir/microblaze_mcs.bmm'

Was wondering if I missed something. Thanks for any help, and looking forward to the tutorial.

Cheers, Michael

embmicro
Site Admin
Posts: 834
Joined: March 24th, 2013, 12:45 pm

Re: Microblaze on Mojo?

Post by embmicro » February 20th, 2014, 6:41 pm

The tutorial is now up. http://embeddedmicro.com/tutorials/mojo ... rocessors/

It should help you get your project going.

@gadget I actually ran into that bug as well. You have to modify the settings a bit. See the tutorial for details.

aamirjvm
Posts: 4
Joined: February 11th, 2014, 7:26 pm

Re: Microblaze on Mojo?

Post by aamirjvm » March 23rd, 2014, 6:36 pm

embmicro wrote: I've recently added a MicroBlaze core to one of our demo projects and I can confirm the trouble with the baud rates.
Is there documentation available on how to run PicoBlaze, MicroBlaze or any other soft core on Mojo?

embmicro
Site Admin
Posts: 834
Joined: March 24th, 2013, 12:45 pm

Re: Microblaze on Mojo?

Post by embmicro » March 24th, 2014, 3:32 pm

There's a tutorial on how to add a MicroBlaze core here http://embeddedmicro.com/tutorials/mojo ... rocessors/

tito1968
Posts: 1
Joined: July 3rd, 2015, 7:40 pm

Re: Microblaze on Mojo?

Post by tito1968 » July 26th, 2015, 7:48 pm

Hi, Maurice.

The link that you post it doesn't work.
Jim Duckworth's step by step guide http://ece.wpi.edu/~rjduck/Microblaze%2 ... l%20v2.pdf
Can you please post the pdf or a good link?

Thanks, Manuel.

ksrikan1
Posts: 2
Joined: April 25th, 2016, 2:58 pm

Re: Microblaze on Mojo?

Post by ksrikan1 » April 25th, 2016, 6:49 pm

Hi,
It seems like, I have hit this exact issue. Is the fixed baud-rate in avr fixed or do I still need to use the workaround of intermediary converter ?

cerkit
Posts: 27
Joined: March 30th, 2017, 10:27 am

Re: Microblaze on Mojo?

Post by cerkit » December 24th, 2017, 4:35 pm

maurice wrote:I found that Jim Duckworth's step by step guide http://ece.wpi.edu/~rjduck/Microblaze%2 ... l%20v2.pdf was really useful. Using it I was able to instantiate the Microblaze core, compile a C program and create an updated bit file. And this is just using the free Xilinx tools.
This link is no longer valid. For anyone looking, it has moved to:


http://users.wpi.edu/~rjduck/Microblaze ... l%20v5.pdf
Michael Earls
https://cerkit.com

Post Reply